Infiniti G35 G37 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my 6 Speed G35 sedan, but for some reason every time I do a quick shift into second gear or 3rd for that matter, the car kinda kick in real hard, then it briefly hesitates, and then it starts going the way you would expect. I have read elsewhere that shifting should be real smooth on this car, but that is definitely not my case. Even when I try to shift smoothly and slowly it still kinda hesitates. Is this normal, or do you think there's something wrong here? Now I have been driving sticks for many years, so I know what I'm doing but this car's gears are kinda strange...

Thanks

·
Registered
72 Posts
Give it a week or so. I've had mine for about that long it's taken a bit of time to get smooth launches and into 2nd. It is a little tricky compared to most manuals I've driven but I'm getting the hang of it. I think the clutch is different than most other manuals, as it's hard to tell exactly when it starts engaging. It's like you don't feel the resistance change when it starts to grab, so it's hard to anticipate unless you go real slow. After a while though you'll figure out about where in the stroke it starts engaging and be able to get smooth shifts.

On the other hand, the engine shouldn't be "hesitating" at all. It's most likely your letting the clutch grab before you give enough throttle and it's overloading. Just practice some more. Like I said it took me about a week and 500 miles to get it right.

6MT Sedan-Sliver-Premium-Aero-Winter-Trunk mat with Infiniti logo :)

·
Registered
2,221 Posts
You're running into the traction control.