Infiniti G35 G37 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm new to the performance arena. Never had a car worth the money. I'm looking to set up my new sedan and kick up the hp. A friend mentioned changing the chip...does anyone know if it is a plug in or not?

Also, anyone from NJ/NYC who knows of a good reputable shop?

Appreciated the help.

G35 Sedan...All Black!

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
There are rumors circulating that Nismo will be producing a chip for the G's. I would assume this would be similar to the chips popular on Audi's which are simple swap in, swap out chips. You could probably install yourself, if you can hunt down the ECU.

Does anyone else have any more info on this? Gav?

2003 G35 Coupe (on order)
6-speed
Diamond Graphite / Graphite

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Not to sound like the amateur that I am but...how do I get info on Nismo's new products and what is an ECU? (I'm cringing right now, cause I'm sure I'm going to get abused for this question)

G35 Sedan...All Black!

·
Registered
1,595 Posts
ECU is the Electronic Computer System in your car basically. Im not sure about Nismo chips or where to find them...new to that!

'03 G35 Sedan.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks Chaz.

When did you get yours?
Color?
Trans.?

It's my first new car..Lovin' it!! Get alot of looks. You on the east coast?

G35 Sedan...All Black!

·
Registered
41 Posts
I don't think a chip would do much for performance b/c the car is not turbo or supercharge. I got the chip on my VW Passat which increased the HP 35, but the chip basically reprogrammed the turbo. From what I understand, chips on "regular" cars only toy around with the fuel/air mixture, and don't add much in terms of HP. Just my 0.02

·
Registered
1,595 Posts