Infiniti G35 G37 Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After being nearly charged $675 by my local dealer to install XM after delivery, I scouted around for a system. Apparently InfinitiPartsUSA has the receiver and antenna at a fairly decent price. Has anyone installed a similar system themselves? Any difficulty or tips? Antenna placement and procedure? Appreciate any comments please.

·
Registered
2,621 Posts
Semi On did it and said it was fairly easy. If you do a search on XM Satellite you should be able to find his write up.

·
Registered
45 Posts
I have installed the XM receiver and the wiring harness that my sedan did not have.

G35s built before March 2003 will not have the satellite harness. I got my harness from Grubbs Infinity along with the transmitter.

The instructions are very complete.

I am a former Mercedes-Benz tech, for me the installation was simple.

Check under the rear seat bottom on the right side (passenger side) for a blue plug. If it is there and the harness comes up from the right rocker, you have the harness.

If not you will have to run the cable from the back of the radio, under the passenger carpet and down the rocker and into the trunk. Sounds involved but not really.

The only interior panels you need to remove is the glove box, lower IP on the driver's side. Pull up the shifter trim by pulling up at the rim under the boot at the rear most part of the trim. It will snam straight up and pull back toward the e- brake. Get a towel and wrap this trim up and make sure it doesn't rub against the radio trim panel and the lower part of the shifter area. No need to remove the shifter.

There will be 2 screws just onder the radio trim panel that you can see once the shifter trim is out of the way.