Infiniti G35 G37 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! Long time lurker, first time poster here.

Planning on picking up an '09 G37 Sedan, but facing the age-old question of Manual vs. Automatic transmission. I'm fairly new to driving stick, and really have only had experience shifting in a Mitsubishi Lancer and Ford Focus.

I've heard the 6MT in the G37 isn't a very forgiving one and has a bit of a learning curve. I'm sure I'd get the hang of it after a while, but I'm honestly a bit anxious about going in for a test drive. Any 6MT owners care to offer their insight about how it has compared to other stickshift cars you've driven/owned?

Planning to take a trip to the local Infiniti dealer soon... :D

·
Super Moderator
27,333 Posts
If you are thinking you want the 6MT, get it. Don't "settle" for the auto if that's not what you want.

Tips: it's just another manual transmission, slip the clutch, give it some gas, off you go. The only other thing to say is the engagement point is kinda high (lot's of travel up from the floor) so if you are on a slope be warned, you're gonna roll some...just about rolled into a parking stop on the 2nd one I test drove :???:

·
Registered
11 Posts
I bought a G37 a couple of months ago. I've always had manual trans cars and thought I'd give an automatic a try. I now have over 7000mi on the car and still can not get use to this automatic. It doesn't shift up or down when I would like it to. Other than that the radio sucks, it is the journey model so no Bose, so I'm going to replace the speakers and add amps. The ride and handling I do like and the small size gets into parking spots nicely. I'll probably keep it about 2 years and start looking again.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replies!

I think I will opt for the 6-speed... getting real bored of driving an auto and even though I still suck at it, driving my friend's manual car is really a ton of fun.