Infiniti G35 G37 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,
Does anyone know if after market alarms do anything to void the basic warranty? I've never really thought about it until they had some problems working my after market alarm. I'm sure they'll be ablt to fix it, but it just got me thinking. Thabks for your input.

·
Registered
2,221 Posts
If an aftermarket alarm directly affected the function of something else in the car, that specific malfunction would not be covered, from what I've gathered. The alarm itself also wouldn't be covered. However, your overall warranty wouldn't simply be dismissed.

Of course, I'm a little new to the whole warranty thing so I may be mistaken but that's what I've gathered from the discussions of other mods on this and other fora.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah Semi On that makes since. But could the argument ever be made that by putting in a aftermarket alarm you are integrating that with the whole CPU in general, therefore could a lot of electrical problems be "blamed" on the after market alarm?

·
Registered
2,221 Posts
I've never heard of an aftermarket alarm that did that. It's just a little box with some sensors and a horn. It doesn't really integrate into anything.

this in deference to everyone who insists on putting a load of crap at the end of everything they say' - Dr Tom Dowling

·
Registered
1,768 Posts
a alarm just gets tapped into stock factory harnessed wires, when installing a alarm they do not cut or cross any factory wires together. waretnee should not be voided for no reason at all.

AIM: Jo3yf
'03.5 5AT Sedan | Brilliant Silver/Graphite | Premium | Winter | Heated Seats/mirrors
350z intake tube | Stillen CAB | Clear Corners | Drilled Pedals | Sick Audio Setup
View my car at http://www.cardomain.com/id/joebizz.

·
Registered
402 Posts
nah, it won't void basic warranty.
What alarm are you looking at?