Ecu reprogramming a must for hp gains?? - 6MT.net Infiniti G35/G37/GTR Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post 1 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 12:33 AM
25-99 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default Ecu reprogramming a must for hp gains??

Hi, Im a newbie so please somebody help me out. I was just wondering if i would receive any hp gains at all if i install a Z intake tube without reprogramming my ecu?? I understand i can always reset my ecu, but if i have to reset my ecu all the time. That can be a real pain in the ass. So what i was really wondering is with such a simple mod such as a changing the stock intake tube with a Z intake tube, is reprogramming the ecu really required in order to have permanent hp gains on your car??


2004 G35c 5at
GaAAaR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post 2 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 09:11 AM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's not a must, but you will definitely see much more if you get the ECU upgrade. It's been proven time and time again.

<font size="1">'03 AT Sedan | Brilliant Silver | Willow Leather | Sport | Premium | Aerokit w/Spoiler | Nav | Driving skills better than Mr. Seattle's</font id="size1">
lead_foot is offline  
post 3 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 11:13 AM
0-24 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Does the ECU .pdf file that you had made a while back and also the detailed instructions also apply to the G-35? I would think since the Z utilizes the same engine this probably all goes hand in hand. I am having a Z-tube and a Stillen Intake w/ Borla Exhaust installed this Saturday. Any other info. I need to know before/after? I am going to put it on the dyno and will post with these mods afterwords. Two months I am going with the Stillen/Charger. Wanted Procharger, but still not sure b/c of the $$$.

Back to my question.. ECU.. What should I do? (That even Rhymed..)
cloudkid is offline  
post 4 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 11:35 AM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yes. It applies to all G35s, coupe and sedan alike and the 350z's. IMO it should be done following any type of engine modification. As far as the TechnoSquare ECU upgrade, I would for obvious reasons, wait 'til after the SC install. Have you considered all the FI options? Have you seen this:

Post from FA

<font size="1">'03 AT Sedan | Brilliant Silver | Willow Leather | Sport | Premium | Aerokit w/Spoiler | Nav | Driving skills better than Mr. Seattle's</font id="size1">
lead_foot is offline  
post 5 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 11:40 AM
0-24 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Since my last post I learned if you want immediate gains, then go with the ECU reprogram. If you have patience, drive it on the highway, stop and go traffic (basically your everyday driving) wrap it out a few times, etc. Wait about 800-1200 miles & the ECU should adapt to the new mods by itself.

REF: EverythingG35 - Infiniti/Nissan of Scottsdale, AZ.


03' AT / Coupe / B.Silver / Loaded/Navi/DVD/TV-Tuner / Stillen Intake/Z-Tube/Borla Exahust/Award winning Stereo. 19"'s....
cloudkid is offline  
post 6 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 11:42 AM
0-24 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Cool. Thanks for the great info. Lead!

cloudkid is offline  
post 7 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 11:53 AM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

That's why I'm here. []

<font size="1">'03 AT Sedan | Brilliant Silver | Willow Leather | Sport | Premium | Aerokit w/Spoiler | Nav | Driving skills better than Mr. Seattle's</font id="size1">
lead_foot is offline  
post 8 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 01:15 PM
25-99 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default

Would i still be able to see hp gains? if i dont do the ecu upgrade? or it'll simply be the sound difference and no hp gains????
GaAAaR is offline  
post 9 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 02:11 PM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

You should still see some.
lead_foot is offline  
post 10 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 09:24 PM
25-99 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default

Wait so what you guyz are saying is if i wait it out? my ecu can adapt to the mods and a tcu upgrade is not neccessary at all??
GaAAaR is offline  
post 11 of 37 Old 02-11-2004, 11:21 PM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Not what I said at all.

Let's say as an example, you get 10HP from X mod with the ECU upgrade. The same mod will get you 0-4HP without the ECU upgrade. So you might see gains, but not as much as you would with a tuned ECU. Now that's an example and there are always variables and even cases where certain mods make you lose HP. You just have to be informed so you can make the best decision for your particular situation.

The general consensus has been that our ECU comes set to certain specifications that don't particularly like it when it notices something different, wether it be more fuel, more air, higher revs, etc. So when it starts to notice it, it tries to get it back to the original spec, which basically decreases or nullifies any gains by the mod.
lead_foot is offline  
post 12 of 37 Old 02-12-2004, 02:01 AM
25-99 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default

Wow thanx for the info. I appreciate it =)
Whats the best way to reprogram a ecu? Is TCU the best? or is there a better choice?
GaAAaR is offline  
post 13 of 37 Old 02-12-2004, 09:43 AM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's TS for TechnoSquare, and they are the best since everyone else has bought the system from them.
lead_foot is offline  
post 14 of 37 Old 02-12-2004, 02:04 PM
25-99 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default

THank you, you have been alot of help lead_foot. =D
GaAAaR is offline  
post 15 of 37 Old 02-12-2004, 02:53 PM
Over 2,500 Posts
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 2,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">Originally posted by GaAAaR

Is TCU the best? or is there a better choice?
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">

TCU did make it to #6, but what a joke that was.[]
rlipps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  6MT.net Infiniti G35/G37/GTR Forums > 6MT.net Market Place > Performance Mods


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Current upgrades - 300HP from 3.5L? thx007 G35 Sedan 2003-06 12 09-23-2005 07:52 PM
Gas Milleage Update: Z-Tube = huge gains partyman66 G35 Coupe 25 06-17-2005 11:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome