2005 G35 Coupe Amp Install/Converter Kit, Help Please? - 6MT.net Infiniti G35/G37/GTR Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post 1 of 5 Old 06-18-2010, 08:38 PM
0-24 Posts
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default 2005 G35 Coupe Amp Install/Converter Kit, Help Please?

Hey everyone,

This is my first post here, and I just have a quick question for everyone that I'd really appreciate an answer to. I got my G35 coupe last summer and absolutely love it, but I wanted to add an aftermarket sub-woofer. I used to have an 06 Nissan Altima that I put an amp and two 12" subs in, but I had it all taken out when my lease was up on the car. I got a new sub-woofer to fit in the G35 trunk, but still have the same amp and amp converter cables from the original system. I have no problems hooking the sub up to the amp, but don't know how to install the amp in my G35, so I figured I'd take it to Best Buy. They say that the converter I have isn't long enough, and recommend I either buy their $80 "Kicker Amp Wire Kit 8 Gauge" or if I want to save money, buy one online although they claim that a cheaper one won't be as good as the one they sell. I feel like if the converter I had was long enough for the Altima (which is a bigger car than the G35 coupe), shouldn't it be fine to put in my Infiniti? Best buy wants $70 to install the amp, $40 to install the line output converter (which I'm sort of confused about), plus the cost of another amp converter kit which they claim I need.

Basically, are they just trying to scam me into buying a new kit from them, or do I actually need to buy a new Amp converter kit? If so, do you all have any recommendations as to where I should buy one, and if spending $80 to get the one they sell is worth the higher quality. Also, what line output converter and why am I being charged an extra fee for that install?

Thanks a ton, I really appreciate it.
nshuman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post 2 of 5 Old 06-19-2010, 12:59 AM
0-24 Posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

i am a little confused by what you mean by converter?? i assume you are meaning you r line out converter?? you can do a few searches and there are plenty of posts on how to do this, but ill help you out a bit here. technically a line out converter is even needed to be used because the signal coming out of the deck is already low level, or RCA signal, and you can just grab the rear speaker leads, on the input side of the amp which is under the panel on the driver side of the spare tire well. if they are saying your amp kit isnt long enough, you power wire run, then well you may need to buy a new one. be aware that cheap power wire kits have lower amount of wire and are usually at best copper coated not full copper. the amp kits they sell are fosgate and come with RCA's which i assume you already have. anyway the prices they are charging are pretty standard but i dont know if id take my car to best buy to have work done, for that price id find a reputable shop and go see them. I sell my power wire by the foot and usually can get a amp kit cheaper then 80 for 8 gauge even in a sedan or large SUV. hope that helps a little.
lethal_G_6mt is offline  
post 3 of 5 Old 06-19-2010, 06:45 AM
Super Duper Moderator
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Gilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 50,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Default

^^ your post about low line level is only accurate with the Bose system. If the OP has a non-Bose system, it is speaker level from the back of the HU, which will need an LOC.

nshuman, what ausio system do you have in your car? That's the first thing I need to know.

Where is Best Buy trying to connect the LOC? Like lethat G said, you won't need it if you have the Bose system.

'03.5 Caribbean Blue 5at Sedan & '06 Autumn Copper FX35
Gilley is offline  
post 4 of 5 Old 06-19-2010, 07:51 PM
0-24 Posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

our cars came without the bose system? is that like the few cars that came with cloth interior?? out of the dozens of g's, both sedan and coupe, i have not run into a non bose or cloth interior. i know your prolly right i just havnt heard of the no bose system.
lethal_G_6mt is offline  
post 5 of 5 Old 06-20-2010, 09:26 AM
Super Duper Moderator
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Gilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 50,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Default

The non-Bose systems are out there moreso than the cloth covered seats.

'03.5 Caribbean Blue 5at Sedan & '06 Autumn Copper FX35
Gilley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  6MT.net Infiniti G35/G37/GTR Forums > Infiniti Discussion > G35 Coupe


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 G35 coupe headlights on a 2005 G35 coupe? mkyu G35 Coupe 5 03-14-2010 05:07 AM
Springs & Camber Kit Install Sandman35 G35 Coupe 9 08-13-2008 08:00 AM
WTB: Double Din Dash Kit for 2005+ G35 trioptimum Electronics 2 06-29-2008 09:41 AM
g35 coupe - catalytic converter problem g35by G35 Coupe 11 08-25-2006 05:30 AM
MAC Mini Install in 2005 G35 msteele1969 Audio & Navigation 5 06-25-2005 11:32 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome