Aftermarket Nav, pics please!? - 6MT.net Infiniti G35/G37/GTR Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post 1 of 11 Old 09-17-2008, 04:21 AM
Over 100 Posts
 
cwlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to cwlee
(Thread Starter)
Default Aftermarket Nav, pics please!?

I just inquired about adding an aftermarket nav system.. But how it was explained to me was that the whole facing would be replaced so my radio/cd screen would be a touch screen and my nav would be on that too.. has anyone done this? how does this look? any problems? Post pics please!
cwlee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post 2 of 11 Old 09-17-2008, 06:52 AM
Super Duper Moderator
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Gilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 50,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Default

Are you talking about replacing the stock radio with a double DIN head unit with navigation?

'03.5 Caribbean Blue 5at Sedan & '06 Autumn Copper FX35
Gilley is offline  
post 3 of 11 Old 09-17-2008, 07:01 AM
Over 25,000 Posts
 
the750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: wrightsville beach
Posts: 50,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Default

theres a few members on here that have done that. it looks really good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilley View Post
You are the glue that holds 6MT together.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilley View Post
750, you are so wonderful. The world is a brighter place with you here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilley View Post
you're just so magical.
the750 is offline  
post 4 of 11 Old 09-20-2008, 05:12 PM
Over 100 Posts
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Shakuya88
Default

I just did it today. deff good I just didn't get the new dash pieces yet. So the dash is still in pieces even though it's all back together

'04-G coupe-6MT-Twilight Blue

K&N Filter | JDM Clear Corners | RE SS | Xo2
Shakuya88 is offline  
post 5 of 11 Old 10-16-2008, 06:22 AM
0-24 Posts
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default Got any pictures?

Shakuya88,

Got any pictures of your new install?
sriramc is offline  
post 6 of 11 Old 11-20-2008, 12:37 PM
Over 5,000 Posts
 
Ru_G36c's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 5,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Ru_G36c
Default

I know this thread is a bit old but if you're still looking I just put in a Kenwood DNX 5120 after the stock Bose unit died on me. Unfortunately I don't have anywhere to upload pictures to. I can e-mail pics if you pm me.
Ru_G36c is offline  
post 7 of 11 Old 12-14-2008, 08:38 PM
0-24 Posts
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default Show me some links

Where can you pick up the aftermarket dash pieces? I just want to throw in a head unit that will play my mp3 cds.
dercas is offline  
post 8 of 11 Old 12-14-2008, 08:45 PM
Over 250 Posts
 
silver350gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

pics please. I'm getting sick of my stock unit not wanting to play cd's for 5 minute spans every once in a while. no idea why, it just cuts the volume and thats it for a while, but the radio will still play just fine so i know its not the speakers. anyway, im trying to find a double din unit with nav. any suggestions
silver350gt is offline  
post 9 of 11 Old 12-15-2008, 08:12 PM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
pattyskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silver350gt View Post
pics please. I'm getting sick of my stock unit not wanting to play cd's for 5 minute spans every once in a while. no idea why, it just cuts the volume and thats it for a while, but the radio will still play just fine so i know its not the speakers. anyway, im trying to find a double din unit with nav. any suggestions
I had the same problem, mine only cut volume on the driver's side of the car though.











Hope the pictures are helpful.

SOLD THE G
pattyskin is offline  
post 10 of 11 Old 12-31-2008, 09:35 AM
0-24 Posts
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Patty - That looks great - very much a factory look. How well integrated is it? For instance, do the steering wheel buttons work? SSV? What double-din panel did you use? I looks good but some have complained about the quality of the buttons, etc not being the same on the aftermarket double-din panels. Did you install yourself or professionally?
avatar77 is offline  
post 11 of 11 Old 01-07-2009, 09:07 PM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
pattyskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by avatar77 View Post
Patty - That looks great - very much a factory look. How well integrated is it? For instance, do the steering wheel buttons work? SSV? What double-din panel did you use? I looks good but some have complained about the quality of the buttons, etc not being the same on the aftermarket double-din panels. Did you install yourself or professionally?
The steering wheel controls work via an adapter so they work with the aftermarket HU. The HU has nav built in so SSV is based upon the GPS speed. I used a DNX 7100 made by kenwood for my HU. The quality of the buttons is bad on the metra kits, the buttons are cheezy and kinda rubbery in feel. The ones I used were the JDM climate control version so they're firm hard plastic buttons that light up and everything just like factory.

SOLD THE G
pattyskin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  6MT.net Infiniti G35/G37/GTR Forums > Infiniti Discussion > Audio & Navigation


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aftermarket Nav or OEM Nav? wumbo6 Audio & Navigation 2 04-10-2008 02:03 PM
Aftermarket Nav Installation G35MoneyPit Audio & Navigation 0 11-19-2005 09:19 AM
Aftermarket Nav Pics (Works Now) IcedG35 G35 Coupe 16 09-01-2004 01:33 PM
Aftermarket Nav/DVD Asa Audio & Navigation 33 03-12-2004 09:51 AM
with NAV, can you still get an aftermarket trovan Audio & Navigation 0 03-11-2004 06:34 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome