Pioneer Avic-d3 Double Din Problems - 6MT.net Infiniti G35/G37/GTR Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post 1 of 17 Old 09-27-2007, 08:03 AM
25-99 Posts
 
G35SR20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: queens ny
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default Pioneer Avic-d3 Double Din install with dual climate control working

Hey i just bought a pioneer avic-D3 double din head unit for my o4 coupe 6mt. I was doing some reading on the forums about the double din kit i need. Where can i get that kit and do i need to replace my A/C contoller with the JDM. What if i just take it to a stero shop to install it will they get the bouble din kit. Will they replace the A/C controller unit or will they cut my factory panel and sador back on my A/C controller. A friend of mine ask his friend at a stero shop how much to install it. They told him $200. I am not sure what they will do for $200. I am really thinking of return or sell it back cuze it sounds like a lot of headache. Can i have some advice please.

Last edited by G35SR20; 10-15-2007 at 03:53 PM.
G35SR20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post 2 of 17 Old 09-27-2007, 09:38 AM
Super Duper Moderator
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Gilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 50,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Default

You really need the trim piece and the AC controller. It's way too much work to try to make the OEM controller work.

You can get them from Infiniti & Nissan Accessories From Grubbs Performance Specials: Grubbs Performance Parts and EverythingG35 / Everything350Z - G35 Parts, 350Z Parts, Factory Accessories and Performance Modifications..

You will also need a Nissan antenna adapter and Nissan wire harness adapter. If you want the steering wheel controls to work, you will also need a PAC SWI-PS.

'03.5 Caribbean Blue 5at Sedan & '06 Autumn Copper FX35

Last edited by Gilley; 09-27-2007 at 11:16 AM.
Gilley is offline  
post 3 of 17 Old 09-27-2007, 10:35 AM
25-99 Posts
 
G35SR20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: queens ny
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default

Do i need to buy the A/C controller and the double din kit.
G35SR20 is offline  
post 4 of 17 Old 09-27-2007, 11:16 AM
Super Duper Moderator
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Gilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 50,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Default

Yes. The AC controller and the trim piece are two separate pieces, but you need them both.

If you get the Metra product, it has both pieces, but the buttons are not OEM quality.

'03.5 Caribbean Blue 5at Sedan & '06 Autumn Copper FX35
Gilley is offline  
post 5 of 17 Old 09-27-2007, 12:17 PM
25-99 Posts
 
G35SR20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: queens ny
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default

Hey thanks. I did some research and found out if i buy the JDM double din kit with the a/c controller i will loose my dual climate control. This is aot of this i loosing and a lot of money spent to get this pioneer to work. Is it really worth it.
G35SR20 is offline  
post 6 of 17 Old 09-27-2007, 12:42 PM
Super Duper Moderator
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Gilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 50,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Default

You can desolder the dual climate control button from your OEM AC control board and solder it onto the JDM AC controller and dual climate will work.

'03.5 Caribbean Blue 5at Sedan & '06 Autumn Copper FX35
Gilley is offline  
post 7 of 17 Old 09-27-2007, 12:55 PM
25-99 Posts
 
G35SR20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: queens ny
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default

This sounds like a lot of work. Is there a thread on how to do it. I did a search but could'nt find anything.
G35SR20 is offline  
post 8 of 17 Old 09-27-2007, 01:51 PM
Super Duper Moderator
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Gilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 50,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Default

Search on g35driver and g35 frenzy. There are instructions.

It all depends on how bad you want a new HU.

Are you doing the installation yourself?

If you have the Bose system, that raises some other installation issues you'll have to decide on.

'03.5 Caribbean Blue 5at Sedan & '06 Autumn Copper FX35
Gilley is offline  
post 9 of 17 Old 09-27-2007, 01:53 PM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
Ltrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 1,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Ltrain
Default

I still have yet to do it but imo I think it is definitely worth it. Anything to get this crappy head unit out is a plus. U gotta get it done right though, no half assing to try and save money.



Quote:
Originally Posted by mantisG35 View Post
Traffic is for poor people
Ltrain is offline  
post 10 of 17 Old 09-28-2007, 08:52 AM
25-99 Posts
 
G35SR20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: queens ny
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default

thanks guys. i will get some pic up when it's all done.
G35SR20 is offline  
post 11 of 17 Old 10-15-2007, 04:06 PM
25-99 Posts
 
G35SR20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: queens ny
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default



Here is a pic of my D3 install with steering wheel control and dual climate control working.
G35SR20 is offline  
post 12 of 17 Old 10-15-2007, 04:48 PM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
pattyskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

lookin sexi!!

SOLD THE G
pattyskin is offline  
post 13 of 17 Old 10-16-2007, 06:57 AM
25-99 Posts
 
G35SR20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: queens ny
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default

thanks man.
G35SR20 is offline  
post 14 of 17 Old 10-16-2007, 09:25 AM
Over 1,000 Posts
 
Ltrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 1,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Ltrain
Default

Looks good. How is the headunit? I will be getting mine this weekend



Quote:
Originally Posted by mantisG35 View Post
Traffic is for poor people
Ltrain is offline  
post 15 of 17 Old 10-16-2007, 03:21 PM
25-99 Posts
 
G35SR20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: queens ny
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default

I really like it. It's got alot of options.
G35SR20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  6MT.net Infiniti G35/G37/GTR Forums > Infiniti Discussion > Audio & Navigation


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eclipse 5510/6610 vs. Pioneer Avic Z2 fusQer Audio & Navigation 0 06-05-2007 12:53 AM
06 coupe, Pioneer avic z-1 install N2 Audio & Navigation 1 07-31-2006 12:48 AM
FS double din dash kit, double din bracket w/o navi, and carson0627 Electronics 2 08-10-2005 11:51 PM
Pioneer AVIC-N1 install process... Check it out!!! bizz Audio & Navigation 32 11-18-2004 12:12 AM
Pioneer AVIC-N1 screen/computer soundwaves Audio & Navigation 11 08-14-2004 12:42 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome